Ex-Grange of the Charterhouse of S. Giacomo di Capri

In the latter part of the 14th century the monks of the Charterhouse of S. Giacomo di Capri set up a grange on the road running along the flank of the Monti Lattari between Angri and S. Antonio Abate. This allowed them to exploit the lands owned by the monastery in this area. The extensive complex, expropriated in 1806 and privately owned since, has been badly disfigured by use, war damage and the 1980 earthquake. The structure is basically rectangular with four wings that have been heavily added on to and modified. The original 18th century appearance is conserved in the façade of the central wing with its striking open staircase giving onto a loggia that continues to the left. An exedra with imitation applied columns and storerooms opening off it stands as a pendant. The oratory and refectory have a Neoclassical decoration dating from the early 19th century. This building is a rare example of rural building with architectonic pretensions.


14th – 18th century




Angri's Tour